" /> « Southeast Compact Commission – Low-Level Radioactive Waste Management


P.O. BOX 5427

CARY, NC  27512


Current News


While many have spoken of the lack of progress in siting new radioactive waste disposal facilities as envisioned by Congress in 1980, I believe Dr. Hodes would be most pleased with the many innovative solutions that have emerged over the past decade,” said Scott Kirk, a Director of Regulatory Affairs for BWX Technologies, Inc. (BWXT).   “A new regional disposal facility has opened that provides cost-effective disposal capabilities for our nation, even for some of the most challenging waste streams. These successes would not have been possible without the leadership of strong private/public partnerships, such as the one that was created in Texas.

Mr. Kirk received the 2017 Richard S. Hodes, M.D. Honor Lecture Award yesterday in recognition of his innovative efforts in solving low-level radioactive waste (LLRW) management challenges in the United States by:

• Conceiving and perfecting the idea of placing very low activity LLRW in a near-surface landfill based on a performance assessment that showed the predicted dose did not exceed regulatory limits;
• Proposing a near-surface disposal option for Greater than Class C (GTCC) waste that is currently under consideration by the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and the State of Texas; and
• Submitting an application to the NRC to construct and operate a consolidated interim storage facility for spent nuclear fuel.

In addition, the Southeast Compact Commission for Low-Level Radioactive Waste Management (Commission) commended Mr. Kirk for his contribution to the professionalism of health physics and radiation safety programs at the Texas Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal Compact’s regional disposal facility in Andrews County, Texas.

“The Commission thanks Scott for discussing his many innovative efforts in solving LLRW management challenges in the United States,” said Jack Storton, one of the Southeast Compact Commissioners from VA, who presented the Award.  “His efforts have improved radiation health and safety and provided additional economical and safe disposal and storage options for LLRW, GTCC waste, and spent reactor fuel.   His creative work clearly exemplifies the spirit and commitment that the Hodes Award is intended to recognize.”

Mr. Kirk has more than 25 years of experience in the nuclear industry and recently joined BWXT as a Director of Regulatory Affairs.  In this capacity, he provides guidance on a variety of regulatory affairs matters, focusing on radioactive waste management. Prior to his employment with BWXT, Scott served as the Vice President of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs for Waste Control Specialists LLC, where he significantly contributed to the successful licensing of the first new regional disposal facility to open in the past 40 years in Andrews County, Texas. 

The Commission established the Richard S. Hodes, M.D. Honor Lecture Award to honor the memory of Dr. Richard S. Hodes, who served as chair of the Southeast Compact Commission from its inception in 1983 until his death in 2002. 

Nominations for the 2018 Hodes Honor Lecture Award are now being accepted. The deadline for submittal of nominations is August 15, 2017.  Details are on the Commission website at www.secompact.com or you may contact Ted Buckner at (tedb (at) secompact (dot) org) tedb (at) secompact (dot) org.


Many organizations in the United States share common interests with the Southeast Compact Commission, such as the safe management of radioactive waste and the protection of public health and the environment. The Commission endeavors to stay abreast of the activities of organizations sharing common goals and interests through the use of volunteer liaisons.

  Read more about Liaisons Provide Essential Service


The Southeast Compact Commission (Commission) is seeking proposals from qualified consultants to perform a salary study and analysis of fringe benefits of the Commission employees, their respective positions, and job classifications as it relates to the market. The purpose of this study is to examine the base pay and employee benefits of current positions and perform a geographical and professional market comparison of those positions. The consultant will also recommend a five-year plan that will provide a methodology for evaluating and updating pay scales in accordance to the market.

The Request for Proposals –


For additional information, please contact Ted Buckner, the Commission’s Executive Director, at (tedb (at) secompact (dot) org) tedb (at) secompact (dot) org.


The Southeast Compact Commission maintains an electronic National Directory of Brokers and Processors at www.bpdirectory.com for use by compacts, states, federal agencies, and users of radioactive materials. It provides information about companies that package, transport, process or otherwise manage radioactive material in preparation for ultimate disposal. Access to the site and listing in the directory are free of charge.

Attention Brokers and Processors

To get a free listing in the directory or additional information, go to www.bpdirectory.com or contact:

Ted Buckner, Executive Director
Southeast Compact Commission
P.O. Box 5427
Cary, NC 27512
Phone: 919/380-7780 (Office)
(tedb (at) secompact (dot) org) tedb (at) secompact (dot) org


On March 25, 2015, the Conference of Radiation Control Program Directors (CRCPD) distributed a survey regarding the proper management and disposition of disused sources to all State Program Directors on behalf of the Low-Level Radioactive Waste Forum, Inc. (LLW Forum) Disused Sources Working Group (DSWG).

Survey responses are requested by April 17, 2015.

CRCPD’s E-34-Committee on Unwanted Radioactive Materials and the CRCPD Board have reviewed, amended and approved this survey and encourage all state program directors to timely complete and submit their responses. The initial results of the survey will be presented at the CRCPD’s 47th National Conference on Radiation Control that will be held on May 18-21, 2015 in St. Louis, Missouri.

Interested stakeholders are encouraged to contact your State Radiation Program Directors to request that they timely complete and submit their responses to the survey.

The survey may be viewed at www.surveymonkey.com/s/SealedSources

Additional information about the DSWG survey may be found on the DSWG web site at www.disusedsources.org.

If you have questions or require additional information about the DSWG, please contact Todd Lovinger, Executive Director of the LLW Forum at (754) 779-7551 or via email at (LLWForumInc (at) aol (dot) com) LLWForumInc (at) aol (dot) com